NHL Announces 2021-22 Selke Trophy Finalists

The NHL has announced that Aleksander Barkov, Patrice Bergeron, and Elias Lindholm are this year's finalists for the Selke Trophy. 

Barkov is the reigning Selke Trophy winner and put together another excellent season defensively. He is Florida's most important penalty killer and won 57% of his faceoffs. This is the fifth straight season where he has been named a finalist for the award, so let's see if he can go back-to-back from here.

Will this be the year that Bergeron passes Bob Gainey for the most Selke Trophy wins in NHL history? He certainly has done enough to warrant consideration - hence his 11th straight nomination. He was the league leader in faceoff wins (991) and face-off win percentage (61.9%). With rumblings that the longtime Bruin could retire this offseason, it would be big to see him go out on top. 

Lindholm has also made a case for himself to win his first Selke Trophy. He led all forwards in takeaways (55) and blocked shots (52). With that, he also led the league with a plus-61. These are all big stats to lead in, so Lindholm definitely deserves a lot of consideration.

Who do you think will win? This will be a close battle. Let us know in the comments!

Photo Credit: © Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports