NHL Announces Lady Byng Finalists

Sportsmanship is an important part of the NHL, and while the game can sometimes get a little out of hand on the ice, during the regular season these three players always kept their cool, and exhibited the ideals behind the Lady Byng Trophy, which is given “to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.” 

Here are your finalists for 2021-22:

Jaccob Slavin

The defending Lady Byng winner, the Carolina Hurricanes defenseman is up for the award once again. And he couldn't be more pleased.

Jared Spurgeon

The Minnesota Wild defenseman is looking to become the first player in franchise history to win the award, after being a runner-up last season.

He was one of only three players to average at least 21:09 TOI/GP while being assessed 10 or fewer PIM. And it's the 7th time in 12 seasons he's accumulated 10 minutes or fewer. Of course, voting was from the regular season, and doesn't take into account his dangerous crosscheck on Pavel Buchnevich in Game 1 of the playoffs.

Kyle Connor

The Winnipeg Jets winger is coming off a career season, with 47 goals and 93 points. And all while serving only four minutes in penalties—the fewest among the Top 100 scorers in the league. He's looking to become the first Winnipeg player to win the award.