NHL Announces 2022-23 King Clancy Award Nominees

In a series of announcements, the NHL revealed the nominees for the prestigious King Clancy Memorial Trophy.

This award, presented annually, recognizes the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities both on and off the ice while making a significant humanitarian contribution to their community.

The selection process involved each NHL team choosing one player to represent their club as a nominee. A committee consisting of senior NHL executives, led by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly, will ultimately determine the winner.

The criteria for selecting the recipient of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy include a clear and measurable positive impact on the community, investment of time and resources, commitment to a particular cause or community, dedication to the league's community initiatives, creativity in programming, and the use of influence to engage others.

The winner of the award will receive a $25,000 donation to benefit a charity or charities of their choice. Additionally, two runners-up will each receive a $5,000 donation to support charitable causes.

The 2022-23 nominees for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy:

  • Anaheim Ducks: Kevin Shattenkirk
  • Arizona Coyotes: Travis Boyd
  • Boston Bruins: Patrice Bergeron
  • Buffalo Sabres: Alex Tuch
  • Calgary Flames: Mikael Backlund
  • Carolina Hurricanes: Jordan Staal
  • Chicago Blackhawks: Connor Murphy
  • Colorado Avalanche: Devon Toews
  • Columbus Blue Jackets: Zach Werenski
  • Dallas Stars: Jason Robertson
  • Detroit Red Wings: Dylan Larkin
  • Edmonton Oilers: Darnell Nurse
  • Florida Panthers: Aleksander Barkov
  • Los Angeles Kings: Mikey Anderson
  • Minnesota Wild: Matt Dumba
  • Montreal Canadiens: Jordan Harris
  • Nashville Predators: Juuse Saros
  • New Jersey Devils: Jack Hughes
  • New York Islanders: Anders Lee
  • New York Rangers: Jacob Trouba
  • Ottawa Senators: Brady Tkachuk
  • Philadelphia Flyers: Scott Laughton
  • Pittsburgh Penguins: Evgeni Malkin
  • San Jose Sharks: Luke Kunin
  • Seattle Kraken: Chris Driedger
  • St. Louis Blues: Brayden Schenn
  • Tampa Bay Lightning: Victor Hedman
  • Toronto Maple Leafs: Morgan Rielly
  • Vancouver Canucks: Elias Pettersson
  • Vegas Golden Knights: Reilly Smith
  • Washington Capitals: Tom Wilson
  • Winnipeg Jets: Blake Wheeler
Photo Credit:  Jason Mowry-USA TODAY Sports