Players Announce Ted Lindsay Award Nominees For Outstanding Player

While the official Hart Trophy finalists have not yet been announced by the NHL, the Players Association has named its nominees for its own version of the Outstanding Player honors, the Ted Lindsay Award. 

Connor McDavid, David Pastrnak and Erik Karlsson are the finalists, as voted on by NHL players. 

The credentials for all three are indisputable. 

Edmonton Oilers' superstar McDavid had a season for the ages, racking up a career-best 153 points on 64 goals and 89 assists. It's the best points total in the NHL in 27 years, and the greatest ever by anyone not named Wayne Gretzky or Mario Lemieux. 

Pastrnak has his best season as well this year, also topping the 60-goal mark in helping the Boston Bruins to a record-setting season. The 26-year-old forward had 61 goals and 52 assists for 113 points to finish 3rd in the scoring race. 

Karlsson had an offensive season from the blueline not seen in 30 years. The San Jose Sharks D-man became the first blueliner to top the 100-point mark since Brian Leetch of the New York Rangers in 1991-92. Karlsson potted 25 goals to go with 76 assists. 

The winner will be announced at the 2023 NHL Awards in Nashville on June 26th. 

Photo: Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports