Vegas Head Coach Calls Out Alex Pietrangelo After Game 5 Loss

The Vegas Golden Knights couldn't get passed the Dallas Stars in Game 5, losing 3-2 in a very close game. A game that was swayed by one costly penalty thanks to Golden Knight's defenseman Alex Pietrangelo, and let's just say his head coach wasn't too pleased with the decision.

Bruce Cassidy spoke after the game about Pietrangelo's decision and didn't mince any words in the post-game presser:

Veteran guy should know better. There's controlled aggression out there all over the ice in every series. ... There's a little bit of a learning curve that goes into it. We should know better, but it happens. ... Margins are too thin. We have to take care of our discipline. We just have to. It's that simple. We'll hang our hats on the fact that we're the defending Stanley Cup champions. There's lots of resolve in that room, a lot of winners in that room, a lot of pride in that room.

Pietrangelo didn't speak to the media after the loss. His costly penalty was called thanks to him swatting Stars forward Tyler Seguin in the face. Seguin had taken an illegal check to the head penalty on Shea Theodore earlier in the game and revenge put Pietrangelo in the box.

This was the second game in a row Pietrangelo was in the box at key moments, taken a very undisciplined penalty in Game 4, which the Stars converting on and ended up winning the game. Cassidy admitted he's quite surprised with how the Golden Knights best defenseman is playing at the moment and expects more out of him when the games matter the most.

Here's the play on Seguin, you be the judge:

Photo credit: © Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports