10 NHL Legends that never won a Stanley Cup

The Stanley Cup is the hardest trophy to win. You have to play for 2 months, most of the time through injuries to win it. The NHL has known some legendary players, and some of them have never won the prestigious trophy in their career. So here is our list of the Top 10 NHL legends that never won a Stanley Cup.

10- Marcel Dionne
Despite playing in the league for 18 seasons, Marcel Dionne has never even passed the second round of the playoffs. Dionne was an offensive monster, having eight 100+ point seasons, including five straight. Dionne is a two-time Lady Byng Memorial Trophy winner (1975, 1977), Art Ross Trophy winner (1980) and a two-time Ted Lindsay Award winner (1979, 1980).

9- Mike Gartner
Mike Gartner is the only Hall of Famer to have never played in the Stanley Cup Final and never win an NHL Award. Gartner is tied with Wayne Gretzky for most goals scored in an All-Star Game (4), has most consecutive 30-goal seasons (15), most 30-goal seasons (17) and is ranked 7th for goals (708).

8- Pat LaFontaine
Considered as the best American player of all time, Pat LaFontaine takes our list at number 8. With his 1.17 point per game, 5 All-Star Team appearances, 15 NHL seasons, and numerous other NHL awards, LaFontaine has never won the Stanley Cup.

7- Dino Ciccarelli
Arguably the best undrafted player in NHL history, after 19 seasons within the league and playing for 5 different teams, you would think Ciccarelli would have won one in his time. Ranked 19th on the list for goals (and most by any undrafted player, who was eligible at his respectful draft year), and his 1,200 points ranks him at 49th in NHL history! Dino did make it to the Final twice with the North Stars in 1981 and 1995 with the Detroit Red Wings.

6- Curtis Joseph
Curtis Joseph isn't a Hall of Famer just yet. he is ranked 5th for most wins by a netminder, 3 All-time All-star appearances and has made every team he has played with better. He played just 57 games short of 1,000 games. And it's not by lack of trying, Joseph played for 5 different organizations.

5- Cam Neely
Hall of Famer Cam Neely never won a Stanley Cup as a player, but won it with as an executive for the franchise in 2011. During his injury-plagued career, Neely played for the Canucks and the Bruins. He is also ranked 10th for goals per game, and was named 5 times to an All-Star team.

4- Norm Ullman
20 NHL seasons, 11 All-Star appearances, 14 post-season appearances, 1,229 points that rank him 40th all time, and not one Stanley Cup even though he appeared in 5 Stanley Cup Finals. It's by lack of trying either, in his 106 post-season games, Ullman scored 83 points. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1982.

3- Paul Kariya
Over the course of his career, Kariya appeared in seven All-Star games, scored 989 points in 989 games, and appeared in a single Stanley Cup Final in 2003. Kariya's career would have been longer if not for numerous concussions. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2017.

2- Dale Hawerchuk
Making the post-season 15 out of 16 times throughout his career, Hawerchuk never got to hoist Lord Stanley. He almost got the opportunity in 1997 when he was a member of the Philadelphia Flyers, but lost in four games to the Detroit Red Wings. Hawerchuk finished his career with 1,409 points ranking him 20th all time on the NHL point list.

1- Adam Oates
Oates had quite the career as he is ranked 7th in assists with 1,079 and 18th in points with 1,420. He made two Stanley Cup Finals with both the Washington Capitals and the Anaheim Ducks. In 2012, he was inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Honorable Mentions:

Henrik Lundqvist
Maybe the best netminder in the past decade, Lundqvist has had only one chance to claim Lord Stanley in his career and it was against the Los Angeles Kings in 2014, but lost in a heartbreaking second overtime defeat. Lundqvist will undoubtedly go down as one of the best goaltenders in modern NHL history.

Brad Park
 Considered as one of the best defenceman to have played the game, Brad Park has never won a Stanley Cup in his career. He appeared in nine All-Star Games, voted six times for the Norris Trophy (second to Bobby Orr), is ranked 13th all time in defence scoring all in a 17-year career span.

Previous Page Next Page Home
Do Not Sell My Personal Information