NHL Announces Lady Byng Finalists

NHL award season is upon us and the league is beginning to announce finalists for several trophies. The hardware in this case to discuss is the Lady Byng Memorial trophy which is handed out to "the player who adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability." 

The award is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association and the finalists include:

Jack Hughes, New Jersey Devils

The Devils were a wagon this season and Jack Hughes was a huge reason for their success. Hughes registered 43 goals and 99 points this season while taking only three minor penalties. Last season he managed to receive five first-place votes and finished seventh in total voting, this season could be much different for the Devils star.

Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings

A winner of the award in 2016, Anze Kopitar of the Kings is back to try and claim his second Lady Byng. The 35-year-old veteran forward enjoyed a bounce-back season with 74 points and was only assessed four minutes in penalties, meanwhile he ranked 10th in the league in minutes played by a forward. A true gentlemen, Kopitar tries for his third time to win the award.

Brayden Point, Tampa Bay Lightning

A first time finalist, Brayden Point of the Tampa Bay Lightning had himself a season. Point finished with 95 points on the season and all he took in penalties was a five-minute fighting major and a slashing minor. Impressive stuff from the Lightning star as this award is going to be a hard one to give out. The NHL will do so on June 26 in Nashville. 

Photo credit: Danny Wild-USA TODAY Sports