NHL Announces Calder Trophy Finalists

The NHL has announced the finalists for the Calder Memorial Trophy, awarded annually to the NHL's most outstanding rookie player.

For the 2022-2023 season, the finalists are Matty Beniers from the Seattle Kraken, Owen Power from the Buffalo Sabres, and Stuart Skinner from the Edmonton Oilers.

The winner will be chosen and announced during the NHL Awards ceremony on June 26 in Nashville.

Matty Beniers and Owen Power, both high draft picks, had impressive rookie seasons.

Beniers, the second overall pick of the 2021 NHL Draft, led all rookie scorers with 57 points and helped the Kraken secure a playoff spot in only their second NHL season.

Power, the first overall pick in the same draft, led rookie defensemen with 35 points and was first among all rookies in average ice time.

Stuart Skinner, a third-round pick in 2017, has also had an impressive rookie season.

He emerged as the Oilers' starting goaltender, setting a new franchise record for wins by a rookie goaltender with 29 victories. Skinner posted a 2.75 goals-against average, .914 save percentage, and one shutout, and was exceptional towards the end of the season with a 14-1-1 record and .920 save percentage after March 1.

It's worth noting that Andrei Kuzmenko, who had an impressive rookie season with the Vancouver Canucks, is ineligible for the Calder Trophy due to age and playing history rules.

Overall, it's exciting to see the emergence of these new talents in the NHL and we'll look forward to seeing who takes home the Calder Trophy. Photo Credit: Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports