NHL News: Vezina Trophy Finalists Named

The NHL has announced the finalists for one of its major awards this season, naming the three netminders in the running for the Vezina Trophy. 

Connor Hellebuyck of the Winnipeg Jets, Thatcher Demko of the Vancouver Canucks, and the Florida Panthers' Sergei Bobrovsky are the finalists. 

Hellebuyck already has his name on the Jennings Trophy this year, as the Jets allowed the fewest goals in the NHL this season at 199. He had a tremendous season leading Winnipeg to an unexpected 110-point campaign, and finished 2nd in the league with 37 wins, along with five shutouts, a .921 Sv% (2nd in the NHL) and a 2.39 GAA.

He's a four-time finalist and a winner of the Vezina in 2019-20.

Demko is a first-time finalist, having started 51 games for the Canucks and recording 35 wins, five shutouts, and a .918 save percentage along with a 2.45 goals-against average. He was leading the NHL in wins before going down for 14 games with a knee injury on March 9. Demko led Vancouver to first place in the Pacific Division with 109 points, their best finish in 13 seasons. He's currently out of the Canucks lineup during their first-round playoff series.

Bobrovsky led the Panthers to top spot in the Atlantic, with 36 wins, six shutouts (tied for tops in the NHL), a .915 Sv% and a 2.37 GAA which was 3rd in the league. He's a three-time finalist for the Vezina, and has taken the award twice (2012-13 and 2016-17.)

The winner will be announced in June. 

Photo: Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports