NHL Award Season Begins With Nominees For First Award

It's just about that time of the year... NHL Award Season has kicked off with the nominees announced from every team for the 2023-24 Bill Masterton Award. The honor is handed out each year to the player who "best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to the game".

Here's the full list of nominees:

  • Urho Vaakanainen, Anaheim Ducks
  • Connor Ingram, Arizona Coyotes
  • Danton Heinen, Boston Bruins
  • Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen, Buffalo Sabres 
  • Oliver Kylington, Calgary Flames
  • Frederik Andersen, Carolina Hurricanes
  • Colin Blackwell, Chicago Blackhawks
  • Jonathan Drouin, Colorado Avalanche
  • Zach Werenski, Columbus Blue Jackets
  • Matt Werenski, Dallas Stars
  • Alex Lyon, Detroit Red Wings
  • Vincent Desharnais, Edmonton Oilers
  • Oliver Ekman-Larsson, Florida Panthers
  • Viktor Arvidsson, Los Angeles Kings
  • Marco Rossi, Minnesota Wild
  • Joel Armia, Montreal Canadiens
  • Michael McCarron, Nashville Predators
  • Curtis Lazar, new Jersey Devils
  • Cal Clutterbuck, New York Islanders
  • Jonathan Quick, New York Rangers
  • Claude Giroux, Ottawa Senators
  • Sean Couturier, Philadelphia Flyers
  • Sidney Crosby, Pittsburg Penguins
  • Justin Bailey, San Jose Sharks
  • Joey Daccord, Seattle Kraken
  • Nathan Walker, St. Louis Blues
  • Mikey Eyssimont, Tampa Bay lightning
  • Ilya Samsonov, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • Noah Juulsen, Vancouver Canucks
  • Alex Pietrangelo, Vegas Golden Knights
  • TJ Oshie, Washington Capitals
  • Laurent Brossoit, Winnipeg Jets

The winner is selected in a poll of all chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season. The award was first handed out in 1968 to commemorate the late Bill Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars "who exhibited, to a high degree, the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey". Masterton died on Jan. 15, 1968, after an injury sustained during a game.

Recent winners of the award include Kris Letang, Carey Price, Oskar Lindblom, Bobby Ryan and Robin Lehner. 

Photo: Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports